February 4, 2014

Comments (2)

Who Will Be Champions of Super Bowl XLIX

By: Joe Williams

One year ago today, I predicted that the Denver Broncos would be Super Bowl XLVIII champions. They almost proved me right. Congratulations to Russell Wilson and the Seattle Seahawks for becoming world champions in New York on Sunday. But enough about that. Now, by process of elimination, let’s figure out who is going to win the next one in Arizona.

New Orleans Saints

Will the Saints be celebrating another Super Bowl championship in 2015?

No first-timers

Four teams have never appeared in a Super Bowl. Don’t expect that to change. Sorry Cleveland, Detroit, Houston and Jacksonville.

New coaches

Washington, Tennessee, Tampa Bay and Minnesota all have new head coaches. They won’t be winning it all next year.

Under .500

I can’t see a team that finished with a losing record this year winning it all next year. Atlanta, Buffalo, New York Giants, Oakland and St. Louis are all off the board.


Only the New England Patriots have been to back-to-back Super Bowls since 1999. It won’t happen next year either. Count out Denver and Seattle.

Home-field disadvantage

No team has reached the Super Bowl when it was played on its home field. That eliminates the Arizona Cardinals.

Madden curse

It is widely known that if you are on the cover of the new Madden football game, you are destined for a poor season. I’m predicting they go with another fan vote that leads to a player from Indianapolis on the cover. Now that’s just bad Luck. Goodbye Colts.

A new curse?

Emmitt Smith, Hines Ward and Donald Driver are the three NFL players who have won Dancing With The Stars. All three played for teams who have made a habit of playing in Super Bowls. However, the Steelers, Cowboys and Packers have all failed to reach a Super Bowl since their player won the ballroom dancing competition. Curse or coincidence? I say curse. Goodbye Pittsburgh, Dallas and Green Bay.


Every year a couple teams have their title hopes derailed with injuries to key players. I have randomly determined that those teams will be Chicago, Miami, New England and Philadelphia.

Playoff success

It’s nearly impossible to have a team that hasn’t experienced a few wins in the playoffs run the table and bring home the Lombardi trophy. Carolina (last playoff win was in 2005), Cincinnati (last playoff win was in 1990), Kansas City (last playoff win was in 1993), and the New York Jets (last playoff win was in 2010) are off the list.

Final 4

So that leaves the Baltimore Ravens, New Orleans Saints, San Diego Chargers, and San Francisco 49ers. The Ravens are trending in the wrong direction since they won the Super Bowl last year and the Chargers got hot and lucky at the end of this year but do not look like a true contender (finishing third in their own division). So will it be New Orleans or San Francisco? The NFC is too strong and too balanced for one team (the 49ers) to reach the conference championship game four years in a row. So I’m going with New Orleans to win Super Bowl XLIX. Place your bets now.

2 responses to "Who Will Be Champions of Super Bowl XLIX"
Billy said:
February 4, 2014

Carolina Panthers have my vote

Susan W said:
February 6, 2014

New England Patriots are my choice

Leave a comment
Name : 
Mail : 
Website : 
Message :